Recently, Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi inaugurated the National Sickle Cell Anemia Elimination Mission in Shahdol, Madhya Pradesh. During the event, he distributed sickle cell genetic status cards to the beneficiaries and launched the distribution of approximately 35.7 million Ayushman Bharat Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana (AB-PMJAY) cards in Madhya Pradesh. In addition, the Prime Minister honored Rani Durgavati, the ruling queen of Gondwana in the mid-16th century.

Paying tribute to Rani Durgavati, the Prime Minister stated that the National Sickle Cell Anemia Elimination Mission is being inspired by her. He also mentioned that one crore Ayushman Cards would be issued to the people of Madhya Pradesh. Emphasizing that the Gond, Bhil, and other Adivasi communities are the major beneficiaries of these efforts, the Prime Minister highlighted that more than 50 percent of sickle cell anemia cases in the world occur in India.

The PM expressed the determination to free the tribal communities and the country from the menace of Sickle Cell Anaemia by 2047. He underlined the need for a coordinated approach of government, health personnel, and tribal’s. He informed that blood banks are being established for the patients, arrangement for bone marrow transplant is being enhanced, and screening of Sickle Cell Anaemia is being revamped. He asked the people to come forward for screening. 

The Prime Minister informed that about 5 crore patients have availed free treatment under the Ayushman Scheme, in the entire country, saving more than one lakh crore rupees of patients. This Ayushman Card is the guarantee of eliminating the biggest worry of the poor. This card will act as an ATM card worth 5 lakh rupees for those who need hospital visits.

The National Sickle Cell Anemia Elimination Mission was announced in the 2023 Union Budget and will be implemented in 278 districts across 17 high-focus states, including Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Assam, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Bihar, and Uttarakhand.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here